SANTA ROSA -- The Santa Rosa Family Medicine Residency, which pairs recently-minted doctors with Sutter Medical Center of Santa Rosa in conjunction with the University of California, San Francisco, announced its incoming class for 2014.

Approximately 540 people applied for spots in the Family Medicine training program. Only 12 were selected for the three-year program that has trained physicians since 1938.

Officials said the residency program is a “critical strategic health care asset” as Sonoma County confronts an emerging physician shortage.

Sponsored by Sutter Medical Center, the program is the largest single source of family physicians to Sonoma County for the past 70 years, according to Sutter. Other health care organizations contribute to the residency program, among them Kaiser Permanente, the Santa Rosa Community Health Centers and UCSF.

Graduating physicians from the program go on to fill private practices, community clinics, large medical groups such as Sutter Medical Group of the Redwoods, Permanente Medical Group, local community health centers, Sonoma County  Health Services and other leadership positions throughout the medical community, officials said in announcing the new residents.

The incoming class will help Sonoma County’s medical community adapt to an ever-evolving landscape, officials said.

“Health care is changing in the county and the old models of family medicine, where a physician sits in the office and waits for patients to come to them, are outdated,” said Jeff Haney, program director for the residency. “We have emphasized the development of leadership skills and innovation in the course of residency training and have actively recruited students who want to lead in creating new models of primary care that make patient-centered medical homes a reality across the socioeconomic spectrum.”

The residency program draws from medical schools throughout the country. The new residents are: Katya Adachi, M.D., UCSF; Alison Block, M.D. UCSF; Hana Clark, D.O. Arizona College of Osteopathic Medicine; Yael Eskinazi, M.D. University of Maryland School of Medicine; Adam Francis, M.D UC Irvine; Aaron Greenblatt; M.D.  University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine, Ann Griego, M.D. UCSF; Scott Karpowicz; Georgetown University School of Medicine; Ember Keighley, M.D., M.P.H. University of Michigan Medical School; Jennifer King, M.D., M.S. UCSF; Trevor J.V. Moerkerke, M.D. Oregon Health & Science University; and Sarah White, D.O. University of New England College of Osteopathic Medicine.

Click the images to read their biographies.