Welcome to our third annual Facility Managers Recognition Awards special section on this year's recipients.

These awards are intended to recognize the people who keep our organizations running smoothly. It is not something to be taken for granted. The work they do -- and the occasional miracle they perform -- are critical to successful organizations. So, here we honor and applaud them.

Q&As with the recipients were gathered by Business Journal Special Correspondent Gary Quackenbush. Recipients were selected from nominees submitted to the Business Journal editorial staff. Please join us in congratulating this year's recipients.Profiles of the award-winnersSean Ashby, Trinchero Family EstatesSteve Bartlett, county of SonomaRichard Duffin, Santa Rosa Community Health CentersJesse Edwards, Direct Flow MedicalJohn Fannin, Kaiser Permanente San Rafael Medical CenterGriselda Gudino, Amy's KitchenMarc Hagenlocher, Luther Burbank Memorial Foundation and Wells Fargo Center for the ArtsHeather Kurland, Point Blue Conservation ScienceDavid Leighton, Kaiser Permanente Santa Rosa Medical CenterJim Pruett, Petaluma Health CenterSara Southam, The Westin Verasa Napa